Mississippi Stories: Dr. Dan Edney talks about the delta variant crushing the healthcare system

On this episode of Mississippi Stories, Dr. Dan Edney joins Mississippi Today Editor-At-Large Marshall Ramsey to discuss the current delta variant wave crushing Mississippi’s healthcare system. 

Daniel P. Edney, MD, FACP, chief medical officer and regional health officer for the Central Public Health Region for the Mississippi Department has practiced medicine in Vicksburg, Mississippi for 30 years. Edney, a native of Greenville, Miss., is a graduate of the University of Mississippi Medical School, where he graduated with summa cum laude distinction and numerous other honors. He has served on the staff of Medical Associates of Vicksburg and most recently as the medical director for several local nursing homes and hospice services, as well as the addictionologist for several mental health facilities. 

Edney gives an inside look of how the delta variant is affecting Mississippi’s struggling healthcare systems and gives tips on how you can protect you and your family.



Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

We want to hear from you!

By listening more intently and understanding the people who make up Mississippi’s communities, our reporters put a human face on how policy affects everyday Mississippians. We’re listening closely to our readers to help us continue to align our work with the needs and priorities of people from all across Mississippi. Please take a few minutes to tell us what’s on your mind by clicking the button below.

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Marshall Ramsey, a nationally recognized editorial cartoonist, shares his cartoons and travels the state as Mississippi Today’s Editor-At-Large. He’s also host of a weekly statewide radio program and a television program on Mississippi Public Broadcasting and is the author of several books. Marshall is a graduate of the University of Tennessee and a 2019 recipient of the University of Tennessee Alumni Professional Achievement Award.