In this week’s Mississippi Stories, Mississippi Today Editor-At-Large Marshall Ramsey sits down with Rhea Williams-Bishop, Director of Mississippi and New Orleans programs for the W.K. Kellogg Foundation (WKKF). A lifelong Mississippian raised in Carthage and educated at Jackson State University, Williams-Bishop has always had her foot in the philanthropic and public service worlds. Five years ago, she was named to her current post. Williams-Bishop talks about the WKKF’s mission (founded in 1930, the WKKF has been a big part of Mississippi since 1940 and expanded its efforts in the late 2000s) and what the future holds. Will Keith Kellogg believed that children should have equal opportunity to thrive. Williams-Bishop explains how the WKKF empowers Mississippians to do just that by supporting dialogue, developing leaders, investing in the community and advocating for a better Mississippi. 

To see more Mississippi Stories episodes, click here.

To find out more about the WK Kellogg Foundation, click here.

We want to hear from you!

Central to our mission at Mississippi Today is inspiring civic engagement. We think critically about how we can foster healthy dialogue between people who think differently about government and politics. We believe that conversation — raw, earnest talking and listening to better understand each other — is vital to the future of Mississippi. We encourage you to engage with us and each other on our social media accounts, email our reporters directly or leave a comment for our editor by clicking the button below.

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Marshall Ramsey, a nationally recognized editorial cartoonist, shares his cartoons and travels the state as Mississippi Today’s Editor-At-Large. He’s also host of a weekly statewide radio program and a television program on Mississippi Public Broadcasting and is the author of several books. Marshall is a graduate of the University of Tennessee and a 2019 recipient of the University of Tennessee Alumni Professional Achievement Award.