The Entergy/Kent Hull Trophy is named for one of the most outstanding offensive lineman in Mississippi history – a center from the Mississippi Delta.

This year’s recipient, Mississippi State’s Elgton Jenkins, is likewise a center from the Delta. Jenkins, a 6-foot-4, 315-pound senior from Clarksdale, was the clear choice of a panel of professional football scouts who selected the winner.

Hull, the trophy’s namesake, was a Greenwood native and also played at State before a 14-year professional career, during which he made All Pro two times, played in three Pro Bowls and eventually made the Buffalo Bills’ Wall of Fame.

Jenkins began his State career as a guard, blocking for Dak Prescott. He has started in all four seasons, the last three as a center. The Bulldogs will have gone to bowl games all four of his seasons. Jenkins has been a key reason that quarterback Nick Fitzgerald has become the Southeastern Conference’s all-time leading rushing quarterback. He also excels as a pass blocker, having allowed only one sack in 708 snaps over the last two seasons.

Jenkins becomes the fourth Bulldog to win the award in its six-year history. All previous winners have gone on to play in the NFL. Jenkins is expected to be a first or second round draft choice.

The Kent Hull Foundation began the award in 2013 to shine a light on football players who rarely receive headlines or notoriety – and to raise money for the Candlelighters of UMMC to help those afflicted with childhood cancer.

Jenkins will be presented the Hull award at the C Spire Conerly Trophy banquet Tuesday night at the Country Club of Jackson.

The 10 finalists for the Conerly Trophy include a nominee from every four-year, football-playing school. They include, in alphabetical order: wide receiver A.J. Brown, last year’s winner from Ole Miss; running back Booker Chambers of Mississippi Valley State, linebacker Chandler Coleman of Millsaps, kicker-punter Christian Jacquemin of Jackson State, quarterback Noah Johnson of Alcorn, running back Tiberias Lampkin of Mississippi College, linebacker Denarrius Noel of Belhaven, quarterback Patrick Shegog of Delta State, defensive tackle Jeffery Simmons of Mississippi State, and wide receiver Quez Watkins of Southern Miss.

Former Ole Miss and New Orleans Saints standout Deuce McAllister, the 1999 C Spire Conerly Trophy winner, will be the keynote speaker.

The event will begin with a 5:30 p.m. reception, followed by a 6:30 banquet and program.


Past Kent Hull Trophy winners:

•2013: Gabe Jackson, MSU.

• 2014: Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss.

• 2015: Fahn Cooper, Ole Miss.

• 2016: Justin Senior, MSU.

• 2017: Martinas, Rankin, MSU.

Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Take our 2023 reader survey

Rick Cleveland, a native of Hattiesburg and resident of Jackson, has been Mississippi Today’s sports columnist since 2016. A graduate of the University of Southern Mississippi with a bachelor’s in journalism, Rick has worked for the Monroe (La.) News Star World, Jackson Daily News and Clarion Ledger. He was sports editor of Hattiesburg American, executive director of the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame. His work as a syndicated columnist and celebrated sports writer has appeared in numerous magazines, periodicals and newspapers.
Rick has been recognized 13 times as Mississippi Sports Writer of the Year, and is recipient of multiple awards and honors for his reporting and writing.