Electric carmaker given incentives to locate in Tunica County files for bankruptcy

Greentech, the electric car company that shut down its plant in Mississippi last year, filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy this week. Greentech Automotive, founded by former Va. Gov. Terry McAuliffe, lists among its debts $4.8 million owed to the state of Mississippi and Tunica County, which offered economic development incentives to entice the car company to locate its manufacturing facility here. Read the complete story here.

Gov. Bryant schedules third special election for Nov. 7

A special election to fill the Senate seat vacated by Democrat Bill Stone of Holly Springs has been set for Nov. 7, The Daily Journal’s Bobby Harrison reports. Stone represented District 10, which consists of Marshall and Tate counties, for nine years. Last week, he announced he was stepping down to accept the post of manager of the Holly Springs Utility Department. Legislative special elections are non-partisan with all candidates running on the same ballot with no party identification.

Japanese company adds 100 jobs to Madison County operation

Calsonic Kansei, a Japanese company that supplies heating and cooling systems for Nissan trucks, is adding 100 jobs to its Mississippi operation, the Associated Press reports. The company announced Monday it is investing $16.3 million to move its assembly operation to a Gluckstadt warehouse owned by the Madison County Economic Development Authority. Calsonic Kansei’s total employment in the area will increase to about 600. Mississippi Development Authority spokeswoman Tammy Craft said the state is giving Calsonic Kansei $600,000 to improve the building’s climate control and fire suppression systems. The Madison County Economic Development Authority is giving $60,000 for other building and infrastructure improvements. Madison County is granting property tax breaks projected at $460,000 over 10 years, and on inventory projected at $256,000, AP reports.

State flag opponent asks U.S. Supreme Court to hear his case

Carlos Moore is taking his arguments against the Mississippi state flag to the U.S. Supreme Court, the Associated Press reports. Moore, a black attorney in Grenada, filed papers Wednesday that the 5th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals and U.S. District Judge Carlton Reeves were wrong to reject his argument that the flag is a symbol of white supremacy which harms him and his young daughter by violating the Constitution’s guarantee of equal protection to all citizens. The Confederate battle emblem from the Civil War is emblazoned in a corner of the flag. Critics say the symbol is racist. Supporters say it represents the state’s history.

Luxury hotel, conference center planned in Flowood

Construction of a $50 million conference center and hotel adjacent to the Flowood city golf course will begin in early 2018. The project will include a 200-room luxury hotel and 54,000 square foot conference center. The city of Flowood will own the conference center and MCC Real Estate of New Orleans will operate the conference center and the hotel. Plans include a resort-style pool, 15-acre lake, a spa and a culinary school. Flowood Mayor Gary Rhoads says the project will provide tourism and recreational opportunities for Flowood residents. The Mississippi Development Authority approved the project for the Mississippi Tourism Sales Tax Program to offer incentives to development of the area near the Jackson airport.