Mississippi Today has been recognized in multiple categories of the 2023 Society of Professional Journalists’ Green Eyeshade Awards, a prestigious annual competition that recognizes the best journalism in the Southeast.

“We take great pride that our newsroom is constantly publishing high-impact journalism and working tirelessly to serve Mississippians,” said Adam Ganucheau, editor-in-chief of Mississippi Today. “It’s always rewarding to be honored among not only some of our in-state peers, but also among some really great journalists around the region. These are some much deserved honors for our dedicated team.”

The awards honor journalism published in 2022 and are open to journalists and news organizations from Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and West Virginia.

Mississippi Today won or placed in eight different categories, including the first place prize in the overall digital journalism division.

“Last year was full of big, breaking news stories out of Mississippi like the Jackson water crisis, the fall of Roe v. Wade, and new details on the largest embezzlement scandal in state history. Our journalists covered these events and so much more with empathy and accuracy,” said Managing Editor Kayleigh Skinner. “It’s an honor for this work to be recognized alongside so many other great news outlets in the Southeast.”

Mississippi Today was recognized in the following categories:

Division winner, digital:

• First Place: Mississippi Today – Anna Wolfe, The Backchannel

Deadline reporting:

• Second Place: Mississippi Today – Staff, Jackson Water Crisis Collection

Non-deadline reporting:

• First Place: Mississippi Today – Isabelle Taft, Abortion in Mississippi

• Third Place: Mississippi Today – Molly Minta, Inside Mississippi’s only class on critical race theory

Investigative reporting:

• First Place: Mississippi Today – Anna Wolfe, The Backchannel

Serious Commentary

• First Place: Mississippi Today – Adam Ganucheau

Sports Reporting

• Second Place: Mississippi Today – Rick Cleveland for his coverage of Ole Miss’ historic World Series win 

Sports Commentary

• First Place: Mississippi Today – Rick Cleveland

Business Reporting

• Second Place: Mississippi Today – Geoff Pender & Sara DiNatale for their coverage of the state’s burgeoning medical marijuana program

Politics Reporting

• First Place: Mississippi Today – Geoff Pender, Bobby Harrison & Anna Wolfe for their coverage of political issues across the state

View the full list of winners here.

Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.