A festive reminder to vote placed at St. John M.B. Church for those traveling the Northside Drive/Medgar Evers Blvd. corridor in Jackson on Nov. 3, 2020. Credit: Vickie D. King/Mississippi Today

Mississippi is one of seven states with midterm congressional party primaries on Tuesday, June 7, as Democrats and Republicans battle for control of the U.S. House and Senate.

Most prognostication is that Mississippi’s four congressional seats — one held by a Democrat and three by Republicans — are not expected to change party control. Only one race, District 4 in south Mississippi, is considered highly competitive, but all incumbents have at least one primary challenger. In District 4, the incumbent faces well-known and well-funded challengers including a county sheriff in the district and a longtime state senator.

Along with Mississippi, primaries will be held Tuesday in California, Iowa, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico and South Dakota.

If no candidate gets 50% of the vote on Tuesday, primary runoff elections between the top two vote-getters will be held June 28. The general election, pitting Tuesday’s primary winners against one another, will be Nov. 8.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, and anyone in line by 7 p.m. is still allowed to cast a vote. To find your polling location, call your local circuit clerk. The Secretary of State’s Office has an online polling place locator, but as of late the week before election, a messages said it was not working due to system maintenance and directed people to call local clerks’ offices.

Absentee ballots must be postmarked on or before June 7 and received by local circuit clerks within five business days. Voters are supposed to present a valid ID at their precinct, but can cast an affidavit ballot without one, provided they present one to their county circuit clerk by June 14.

Mississippi congressional candidates:

District 1


Hunter Avery

Dianne Black


Trent Kelly (incumbent)

Mark D. Strauss

District 2


Jerry Kerner

Bennie G. Thompson (incumbent)


Michael Carson

Ronald Eller

Brian Flowers

Stanford Johnson

District 3


Michael Cassidy

Thomas B. Griffin

Michael Guest (incumbent)

There is no Democratic primary for District 3, with Shuwaski Young running unopposed for the party nomination.

District 4


Johnny L. DuPree

David Sellers


Carl Boyanton

Raymond N. Brooks

Mike Ezell

Steven M. Palazzo (incumbent)

Kidron Peterson

Clay Wagner

Brice Wiggins

Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Take our 2023 reader survey

Geoff Pender serves as senior political reporter, working closely with Mississippi Today leadership on editorial strategy and investigations. Pender brings 30 years of political and government reporting experience to Mississippi Today. He was political and investigative editor at the Clarion Ledger, where he also penned a popular political column. He previously served as an investigative reporter and political editor at the Sun Herald, where he was a member of the Pulitzer Prize-winning team for Hurricane Katrina coverage. Originally from Florence, Mississippi, Pender is a journalism graduate of the University of Southern Mississippi and has received numerous awards throughout his career for reporting, columns and freedom of information efforts.