Robert Amos has served as an administrator in the insurance industry and as a former educator on the high school and higher education levels. He has taught classes related to the insurance industry.  He is currently a small business owner.

In 2015, Amos ran unsuccessfully for Central District Transportation commissioner.  Previously he ran for Hinds County supervisor and mayor of Jackson. He lost all three elections.

Amos is a Jackson native who attended and earned degrees from Alcorn State University, Jackson State University and Belhaven University. He earned master’s degrees in public administration and health care education and an undergraduate degree in education.

We want to hear from you!

Central to our mission at Mississippi Today is inspiring civic engagement. We think critically about how we can foster healthy dialogue between people who think differently about government and politics. We believe that conversation — raw, earnest talking and listening to better understand each other — is vital to the future of Mississippi. We encourage you to engage with us and each other on our social media accounts, email our reporters directly or leave a comment for our editor by clicking the button below.

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Bobby Harrison, Mississippi Today’s senior capitol reporter, covers politics, government and the Mississippi State Legislature. He also writes a weekly news analysis which is co-published in newspapers statewide. A native of Laurel, Bobby joined our team June 2018 after working for the North Mississippi Daily Journal in Tupelo since 1984. He is president of the Mississippi Capitol Press Corps Association and works with the Mississippi State University Stennis Institute to organize press luncheons. Bobby has a bachelor's in American Studies from the University of Southern Mississippi and has received multiple awards from the Mississippi Press Association, including the Bill Minor Best Investigative/In-depth Reporting and Best Commentary Column.