The Mississippi State Constitution refers to the secretary of state of Mississippi as the “keeper of the capitol.” This officer of the executive branch is responsible for publishing documents dealing with the acts of the state legislature, as well as other official documents, including the Mississippi Official and Statistical Register, commonly called the Blue Book. This office is also responsible for ensuring fair, accurate elections throughout the state of Mississippi. The secretary of state also manages some state-owned lands and is responsible for ensuring certain businesses are operating under the law.

Michael Watson won the Republican primary for secretary of state against Sam Britton.

Johnny DuPree  won the Democratic primary for secretary of state against Maryra Hodges Hunt.

Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Will Stribling covered healthcare and breaking news for Mississippi Today.