Candidates running for any of the three empty Mississippi House seats have an extra day to qualify, according to a spokesperson for the secretary of state’s office.

The original deadline was Jan. 21st, which falls on Martin Luther King Jr. Day; because state offices will be closed for the holiday, candidates officially have until Jan. 22nd to file.

Three former members of the House all became judges: former Rep. Willie Perkins of Greenwood, who became a chancery judge; former Rep. Adrienne Wooten of Jackson, who became a circuit judge; and former Rep. Brad Touchstone of Hattiesburg, who is now a county and youth court judge.

Unlike in a regular election, all special election candidates are nonpartisan and file with the secretary of state’s office.

According to the office’s online list, there are five candidates so far between the three races:

  • Solomon Osborne, running for House District 32 in LeFlore County
  • Edelia J. Cartham, running for House District 71 in Hinds County
  • Kent McCarty, Steven Utroska, and Daniel Waide running for House District 101 in Lamar County

Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Take our 2023 reader survey

Alex Rozier, from New York City, is Mississippi Today’s data and environment reporter. His work has appeared in the Boston Globe, Open Secrets, and on In 2019, Alex was a grantee through the Pulitzer Center’s Connected Coastlines program, which supported his coverage around the impact of climate change on Mississippi fisheries.