Governor appoints new members to College Board

Print Share on LinkedIn More

Four new members have been appointed to the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning by Gov. Phil Bryant, his office announced Friday.

Office of Gov. Phil Bryant

Gov. Phil Bryant with appointees Steven Cunningham, Jeanne Luckey and Bruce Martin

Steven Cunningham, Jeanne Luckey, Bruce Martin and Powell “Gee” Ogletree Jr., will replace trustees Alan W. Perry, Christy Pickering, Dr. Doug W. Rouse and Board President C.D. Smith on May 8. The 12 member board collectively represents eight separate districts throughout the state, with board members serving nine-year terms.

“As the governing authority for our public institutions of higher learning, the College Board serves a critical role in Mississippi,” Bryant said in a statement. “I am grateful these four highly qualified individuals have agreed to take on that responsibility by accepting these appointments.”

Powell Ogletree Jr.

Commissioner Glenn Boyce has also recently announced his intention to retire at the end of this current fiscal year.

Cunningham and Luckey will both represent the Second Supreme Court District. Martin, who was first appointed to the board in 2006 by former Gov. Haley Barbour, will represent the First Supreme Court District. Ogletree will also represent the First Supreme Court District.

Appointees must be confirmed by the Senate. After all of the new board members are seated, a new president will be selected.