President Donald Trump on Monday declared federal disaster areas in nine Mississippi counties struck by storms, tornadoes and flooding on April 30, Gov. Phil Bryant announced.

Included in the disaster declaration were Adams, Calhoun, Carroll, Claiborne, Holmes, Jefferson, Montgomery, Webster and Yazoo counties.

Those nine counties are eligible for Public Assistance, which is reimbursement grants to local governments and non-profit organizations for things like damage to infrastructure, debris removal, and overtime to responders, the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency.

“I am grateful to President Trump’s administration for its partial approval of our request,” Bryant said. “I am hopeful that with more than 110 homes either destroyed or having sustained major damage in Holmes and Montgomery counties, that additional assistance will be approved to help some of our lowest income residents recover.”

UPDATE: State officials received word on Wednesday that disaster relief sought form Holmes and Montgomery counties was denied by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

“I want to assure the people of Holmes and Montgomery counties that we will do everything possible at the state level to help,” Bryant said. “We will partner with nonprofit, community and faith-based organizations to make recovery as swift and painless as possible.”

Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Take our 2023 reader survey