The Legislature recognized Hinds Community College on March 24 with resolutions in the House and Senate for its centennial, the college noted in a press release.

The House resolution was authored by Rep. Alex Monsour, R-Vicksburg, and co-sponsored by Reps. Alyce Clarke, D-Jackson; Credell Calhoun, D-Jackson; Mark Baker, R-Brandon; Oscar Denton, D-Vicksburg; Deborah Butler Dixon, D-Raymond; Andy Gipson, R-Braxton; Ray Rogers, R-Pearl; Sara Thomas, D-Indianola; Tom Weathersby, R-Florence, and Speaker of the House Philip Gunn, R-Clinton.

The Senate resolution was authored by Sen. David Blount and co-sponsored by Sens. Albert Butler, D-Port Gibson; Hillman Frazier, D-Jackson; Briggs Hopson, R-Vicksburg; Robert Jackson, D-Marks; Dean Kirby, R-Pearl; Sollie Norwood, D-Jackson; Derrick Simmons, D-Greenville; Willie Simmons, D-Cleveland, and Sampson Jackson II, D-Preston.

The resolutions also recognized the 40-year service of Hinds President Dr. Clyde Muse. In speaking to the resolution, Frazier called Muse “a giant in public education.”

The resolutions said, in part, “it is the intention of the Mississippi Legislature to publicly express its greatest appreciation and warm wishes to Hinds Community College in commemorating 100 years of community-inspired service and do hereby acknowledge a special recognition for contributions of Hinds Community College to the State of Mississippi.”

Muse addressed senators, saying according to the release, “Many members of this body have helped us so much over this period of years. We appreciate what you’ve done for us, what you’re doing for us today and what you will do for our community college system, which happens to be the number one system in the United States.”

Hinds opened in September 1917 first as an agricultural high school and admitted college students for the first time in 1922, with the first class graduating in 1927. In 1982 Hinds Junior College and Utica Junior College merged, creating the Hinds Community College District, the press release notes.

Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.