On Friday the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) announced the 33 member Campus Search Advisory Committee (CSAC) for Jackson State University’s presidential search.

Members of the CSAC represent a cross-section of the Jackson State University (JSU) campus community. Yolanda Owens, President of the JSU National Alumni Association, and Dr. Jean Claude Assad, Associate Professor of Economics, will serve as co-chairs of the committee. 

Members of the CSAC include:

  • Dr. Rod Paige, JSU Interim President
  • Dr. Loretta Moore,Vice President for Research and Federal Relations and Professor of Computer Science
  • Wheeler Brown, Athletic Director
  • Dr. Deborah F. Dent, Vice President of Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
  • Dr. Dorris R. Robinson Gardner, Dean, Division of Graduate Studies
  • Judy Qualls, JSU Madison Site Coordinator
  • Thomas Hudson, Affirmative Action and Chief Diversity Officer
  • Dr. Evelyn Leggette, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
  • Dr. Jean-Claude Assad, Associate Professor of Economics
  • Dr. Gwen Prater, dean emeritus, College of Public Service
  • Dr. Gordon Skelton, Professor Computer Engineering
  • Dr. Ashton T. Hamme, II, Interim Chair Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • Dr. Jianjun Yin, Professor of Education at the Department of Elementary and Early Childhood Education,
  • Dr. Thea Williams-Black, Elementary & Early Childhood Education department chair
  • Dr. Carrine Bishop, Associate Professor and
    EPhD in Urban Higher Education
  • Dr. Dowell Taylor, Adjunct instructor at the department of music
  • Dr. Rosella Houston, President of Staff Senate
  • Robin Spann-Pack
  • Dr. Robert Luckett, department of history director
  • Kendall Bunch, 2016-2017 Student Government Association President
  • Isaac Gaines,2016-2017 Student Government Association Vice-President
  • Yolanda Owens, President of the JSU National Alumni Association
  • Dr. Alfred Martin, chair of the JSU Development Foundation Board of Directors
  • Robert Cook, JSU Tiger Fund Athletic Foundation
  • Terry Woodard, Immediate past president of the JSU National Alumni Association
  • Jean Frazier
  • Malcolm Harrison
  • Mayor George Flaggs
  • James Covington
  • Dr. Cass Pennington, former chair of JSU interim committee
  • Louis Wright, member of college of science, engineering and technology alumni advisory board
  • Mike Walker,Executive Director of External Affairs
    AT&T Mississippi

The Campus Search Advisory Committee will have a public meeting Wednesday, February 15 at 11:30 a.m. in Ballroom B of the Student Center on the Campus of Jackson State University, 1400 John R. Lynch St in Jackson. The purpose of the meeting is to discuss the presidential search for Jackson State University.

Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Ashley F. G. Norwood, a native of Jackson, earned a bachelor's degree in English from Jackson State University and a master’s degree from the Meek School of Journalism at the University of Mississippi. Norwood, who specializes in multimedia journalism, has been recognized nationally for her documentary film the fly in the buttermilk, which covers the history, perceptions and principles of black Greek-lettered organizations at the University of Mississippi.