Trump issues disaster declaration for 4 counties

Print Share on LinkedIn More

President Donald Trump has issued disaster declarations for Forrest, Lamar, Perry and Lauderdale counties in response to the tornadoes last weekend, Gov Phil Bryant announced on his Facebook page.

“I thank him and his administration for quick action to assist with our recovery,” Bryant said in the post, which included an image of a press release.

Forrest, Lamar, Lauderdale and Perry counties were included in the disaster declaration, according to the release.

“With more than 500 homes either destroyed or having suffered major damage, this federal assistance is critical to help these counties recover,” Bryant said in the statement. “Our hearts and prayers continue to be with the four people killed, those injured and everyone who is faced with the task of rebuilding.”

On Tuesday, Bryant had posted to Facebook a picture of himself talking on the telephone, saying Trump had phoned him to say he would move quickly on a disaster declaration.

Bryant’s release said that federal, state and local officials continue to assess damage in the areas affected by the tornado and related storms so that additional disaster assistance may be considered.

Those in the counties affected by the disaster declaration can apply for assistance at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).