Rep. Andy Gipson, R-Braxton, and Sen. Joey Fillingane, R-Sumrall, will represent the Mississippi House of Representatives and Mississippi Senate on the state’s Presidential Inaugural Committee.

“I look forward to being with you in Washington next week as we witness the dawn of a new era of freedom and opportunity in American history,” Gov. Phil Bryant said in a letter to committee members.

The Mississippi Presidential Inaugural Committee is comprised of state leaders who will represent the state during Donald Trump’s inauguration in Washington, D.C.

“I am extremely honored and appreciative to Gov. Bryant for allowing me to attend such a historic event in this capacity,” Gipson said. “I truly believe we have a unique opportunity to get this country back on track under the leadership of President-elect Trump, and I look forward to being a part of that.”

Fillingane also is pleased to be included.

“I’m proud that our country has chosen Donald J. Trump as its new president,” Fillingane said. “I worked very hard along with many of my fellow legislators and the governor to make sure that Mr. Trump was successful in Mississippi. I’m very excited to be a part of this historic moment in our nation’s history as we inaugurate President Trump.”

Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Take our 2023 reader survey