Mississippi Economic Council 2016-2017 chair Robin Robinson has announced the group’s recently elected leadership group:

• William G. Yates, III, CEO/president of W.G. Yates & Sons Construction Company, as MEC’s 2017-2018 chair.

• James Daniel “Dan” Rollins, III, chairman of the board and chief executive officer of BancorpSouth, Inc., as MEC’s 2018-2019 chair.

• William A. “Lex” Taylor, III, president and chairman of the board of The Taylor Group Inc., as MEC’s 2019-2020 chair.

• Rebecca Wiggs, attorney at Watkins & Eager, as MEC treasurer. Wiggs will also serve as treasurer of the Mississippi Economic Council’s subsidiaries, the M.B. Swayze and the Public Education Forum of Mississippi.

“MEC’s mission is to build a sense of statewide business community. As the state chamber of commerce, the organization serves as a meaningful voice on issues and initiatives focusing on the state’s future in economic development, education, workforce, business climate and image,” Robinson said. “Based on their excellent qualifications I have great confidence that MEC’s elected leadership will work to leave our communities and our state better than we found it!”

We want to hear from you!

Central to our mission at Mississippi Today is inspiring civic engagement. We think critically about how we can foster healthy dialogue between people who think differently about government and politics. We believe that conversation — raw, earnest talking and listening to better understand each other — is vital to the future of Mississippi. We encourage you to engage with us and each other on our social media accounts, email our reporters directly or leave a comment for our editor by clicking the button below.

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.