Mississippi Economic Council 2016-2017 chair Robin Robinson has announced the group’s recently elected leadership group:

• William G. Yates, III, CEO/president of W.G. Yates & Sons Construction Company, as MEC’s 2017-2018 chair.

• James Daniel “Dan” Rollins, III, chairman of the board and chief executive officer of BancorpSouth, Inc., as MEC’s 2018-2019 chair.

• William A. “Lex” Taylor, III, president and chairman of the board of The Taylor Group Inc., as MEC’s 2019-2020 chair.

• Rebecca Wiggs, attorney at Watkins & Eager, as MEC treasurer. Wiggs will also serve as treasurer of the Mississippi Economic Council’s subsidiaries, the M.B. Swayze and the Public Education Forum of Mississippi.

“MEC’s mission is to build a sense of statewide business community. As the state chamber of commerce, the organization serves as a meaningful voice on issues and initiatives focusing on the state’s future in economic development, education, workforce, business climate and image,” Robinson said. “Based on their excellent qualifications I have great confidence that MEC’s elected leadership will work to leave our communities and our state better than we found it!”

We want to hear from you!

By listening more intently and understanding the people who make up Mississippi’s communities, our reporters put a human face on how policy affects everyday Mississippians. We’re listening closely to our readers to help us continue to align our work with the needs and priorities of people from all across Mississippi. Please take a few minutes to tell us what’s on your mind by clicking the button below.

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.