IHL seeks nominations for JSU president search committee

Print Share on LinkedIn More

The Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning has set a Jan. 17 deadline for nominations for the search advisory committee for a new Jackson State University president.

Last October, former university President Carolyn Meyers resigned. On Nov. 7, former U.S. Secretary of Education, Dr. Rod Paige, was named interim president.

In  a press release, the IHL board said it is seeking nominations for student, alumni, faculty, staff and community representatives for the search committee.

According to a press release sent from IHL, nominations may be submitted via an online form at http://www.mississippi.edu/ieo/jsu/constituency.asp or by mailing a letter of recommendation to ATTN: JSU Campus Search Advisory Committee, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning, 3825 Ridgewood Road, Jackson, MS 39211.

Both self-nominations and nominations of fellow members of the JSU campus community are encouraged, the board said.

For more information and to track progress on the presidential search, visit the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning’s Web site at www.mississippi.edu and through Twitter @MSPublicUniv and @JSU_Search.