Mississippi’s Supreme Court justices will be sworn into office Jan. 3 at the Supreme Court building in Jackson, The Oxford Eagle reports.

New to the court is Justice Robert P. Chamberlin. He joins justices James W. Kitchens, James D. Maxwell II and Dawn H. Beam, who will begin their new terms. Chief Justice Bill Waller Jr. will administer the oaths of office.

Chamberlin, 51, of Hernando,  was elected in a runoff election on Nov. 29 to an open seat for the 33-county District 3, Place 1. Justice Ann H. Lamar of Senatobia will retire from that post Dec. 31 after almost 10 years on the court.

Kitchens, of Crystal Springs, starts his second term on the court, having first been elected in 2008. Maxwell, of Oxford, begins his second year on the Supreme Court. Gov. Phil Bryant appointed him on Jan. 1, 2016. Maxwell  was elected without opposition in November. Beam, of Sumrall, was appointed by Gov. Bryant to the Supreme Court on Feb. 16, 2016. She was elected to an eight-year term in November.

We want to hear from you!

Central to our mission at Mississippi Today is inspiring civic engagement. We think critically about how we can foster healthy dialogue between people who think differently about government and politics. We believe that conversation — raw, earnest talking and listening to better understand each other — is vital to the future of Mississippi. We encourage you to engage with us and each other on our social media accounts, email our reporters directly or leave a comment for our editor by clicking the button below.

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.