The Mississippi House of Representatives on Friday gained two new members who won runoff elections Nov. 29.

Emily Wagster Pettus of the Associated Press tweeted that Republicans Donnie Scoggin of Ellisville and John Glen Corley of Lumberton took their oaths of office from House Speaker Philip Gunn at the state Capitol.

Scoggin will represent District 80 in Jones County. He will serve out the remaining three years of the term of Bobby Shows of Ellisville, who retired, Pettus reported.

Corley succeeds Herb Frierson of Poplarville in District 106 in Lamar and Pearl River counties. Frierson left the House to become state revenue commissioner following the 2017 legislative session. Corley won election to serve out the remaining three years of Frierson’s term.

Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Co-editor of Mississippi Today since November 2015. USA TODAY reporter and editor, 1986-2015. The Clarion-Ledger reporter, 1977-83; on team that earned 1983 Pulitzer Prize For Distinguished Public Service. Ole Miss journalism degree, 1977. Contact: