Sanderson Farms tourney announces early commitments

Print Share on LinkedIn More

We are two weeks away from the PGA Tour coming to Country Club of Jackson and beginning get a look of what the field for the 2016 Sanderson Farms Championship will look like.

Among the notable players who have committed early to play here:

• Two-time Major champion Angel Cabrerra (2007 U.S. Open and 2009 Masters).

• Two-time U.S. Open champion Retief Goosen.

• 2009 U.S. Open winner Lucas Glover.

• 2009 British Open champion Stewart Cink.

• 2001 PGA Championship winner David Toms.

• Former Sanderson Farms champs Nick Taylor, Chris Kirk, D.J. Trahan and Cameron Beckman.

Other early commitments include Ricky Barnes, Jerry Kelly, Jonathan Randolph (Ole Miss standout from Brandon), Stuart Appleby, Matt Jones, Camilo Villegas, Boo Weekley, Ben Crane, and Vaughan Taylor.

“We are at the very start of the tour schedule and players are still deciding when and where they will play,” said Sanderson Farms tournament executive director Steve Jent. “There should be lots more movement in the next week. We should have additional names to announce.”