Hillary Clinton

After the state Democratic convention last weekend, the Mississippi delegates who will cast votes at the national conventions for both the Republican and Democratic parties are set.

Forty Republican delegates will travel to Cleveland July 18-21.

U.S. Sen. Roger Wicker and U.S. Reps. Trent Kelly, Gregg Harper and Steven Palazzo are among the Mississippi delegation, along with Gov. Phil Bryant, Treasurer Lynn Fitch, Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann and House Speaker Philip Gunn.

The GOP convention has generated the most speculation this election cycle, with people questioning whether Donald Trump, the last candidate actively campaigning for the presidential nomination, will amass half the necessary delegate votes to become the nominee.

“We are excited about the unified group of Mississippi Republicans going to Cleveland in July for the Republican National Convention who will be fully supportive of our soon-to-be presidential nominee Donald Trump,” Mississippi GOP Chairman Joe Nosef said in a statement. Trump won the Mississippi presidential primary in March.

Forty-one Mississippi Democrats will head to Philadelphia July 25-28 to cast votes for either Hillary Clinton or Bernie Sanders. Clinton will likely receive 34 of those votes, including those from U.S. Rep. Bennie Thompson, Attorney General Jim Hood and House minority leader David Baria. Clinton won the primary in March.

Sanders will get six votes, including one of the party’s five superdelegates, Keelan Sanders. One superdelegate, Johnnie Patton, has not declared which candidate he will support. Superdelegates choose for whom they want to vote.

Mississippi Republican delegates

  • State GOP chairman Joe Nosef
  • U.S. Sen. Roger Wicker
  • U.S. Rep. Trent Kelly
  • U.S. Rep. Steven Palazzo
  • U.S. Rep. Gregg Harper
  • Gov. Phil Bryant
  • Treasurer Lynn Fitch
  • Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann
  • House Speaker Philip Gunn
  • Alex Monsour
  • Becky Currie
  • Brian Sanderson
  • Charles Porter
  • Cindy Moore
  • Curt Hebert
  • Dane Maxwell
  • Doc Holiday
  • Don Halle
  • Donna Ruth Roberts
  • Ellen Jernigan
  • Gary Harkins
  • Henry Barbour
  • J.L. Holloway
  • Jason Dees
  • Jeanne Luckey
  • Jim Herring
  • Joey Fillingane
  • June Geddie
  • Keith Heard
  • Lucien Smith
  • Mark Formby
  • Megan Mullen
  • Nell Frisbie
  • Quinton Dickerson
  • Rita Wray
  • Spence Flatgard
  • Tim Timbs
  • Tyler Norman
  • Wally Carter
  • Wayne Tisdale

Mississippi Democratic delegates pledged to Hillary Clinton

  • Mississippi Democratic chairman Rickey Cole
  • U.S. Rep. Bennie Thompson
  • Attorney General Jim Hood
  • House minority leader David Baria
  • Addie Green
  • Barbara Brooks
  • Bear Atwood
  • Bill Wheeler
  • Carlos Moore
  • Charles Taylor
  • Cindy Ayers Elliot
  • Curley Clark
  • David Jordan
  • Debbie Dawkins
  • Dorsey Carson
  • Earle Banks
  • Jackie Andrews
  • Joy Williams
  • Kathy Sykes
  • KC Grist
  • Kelly Jacobs
  • Leroy Brooks
  • Lisa Ross
  • London Thompson
  • Mala Brooks
  • Paulette Palmer
  • Roosevelt Yarbrough
  • Ruthie Thaggart-White
  • Shirley Harrington
  • Sugar Stallings
  • Tommy Reynolds
  • Vallena Greer
  • William Truly
  • Willie Bailey

Mississippi Democratic delegates pledged to Bernie Sanders

Sen. Bernie Sanders
Sen. Bernie Sanders
  • Emma Sanders
  • Holly Meter
  • Keelan Sanders
  • Luke Lundemo
  • Michael Adelman
  • Weston Lindemann

Unpledged Mississippi Democratic delegate

  • Johnnie Patton

Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Take our 2023 reader survey

Adam Ganucheau, as Mississippi Today's editor-in-chief, oversees the newsroom and works with the editorial team to fulfill our mission of producing high-quality journalism in the public interest. Adam has covered politics and state government for Mississippi Today since February 2016. A native of Hazlehurst, Adam has worked as a staff reporter for AL.com, The Birmingham News and The Clarion-Ledger and his work has appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post and Atlanta Journal-Constitution. Adam earned his bachelor’s in journalism from the University of Mississippi.

One reply on “Democrats, Republicans select convention delegates”

Comments are closed.